"Yaaaa he's ugly but he is a nice guy"
I'm sick of people always adding 'but he/she is nice'. So sick of it. I can't begin to fathom why people would almost certainly add that phrase when I describe someone as ugly. Is there even a need for it?
I mean ugly is ugly. Period. I'm not saying I will ostracise you if I think you're ugly. I'm merely stating my opinion. Whether you agree or not is a completely different issue.
But why is it that theres always a need for people to provide a compliment? Its as though ugly is such a bad thing that most feel bad and feel a compliment is warranted to neutralise 'ugly'.
On the surface, ugly seems like a really negative word. Is it really? It's merely used as an adjective. It's subjective. I'm entitled to my opinion as much as you are to yours. People may argue that it is rude to call someone ugly. Well, to me, the person is ugly and I perceive it as the truth. Why should I sugarcoat the truth? Admittedly, there are times where being tactful is helpful. But for the sake of the post, lets assume I am describing the person to another individual and not calling him ugly straight to his face.
There is no need to 'defend' the person. All I'm doing is saying what I believe is the truth from my two eyes. In fact, by defending the person, you are putting negative connatations on 'ugly'. Lets be very clear about this. You are making 'ugly' ugly; not me. I am not being toxic. I am not making any underlying suggestions about how being ugly affects my mental impression of an individual. Please feel free to disagree with me on whether a person is ugly. But please do not, do not, question where I'm coming from. Cos all I am doing is stating my opinion. And so, please do not, do not, add a compliment when I describe someone as ugly.
I get that the word 'ugly' , together with stupid, fat etc..., have been taught to us since young as negatives. Labelling someone as ugly almost always leads to a telling off by an adult. There in lies the problem. Somewhere along mankind's evolution and modernisation, honesty in some cases is mistaken for being rude. Honesty and straightforwardness is seen as refreshing in society. That shouldn't be the case. You owe it to a person to honest. Sadly though, most these days don't have the mental toughness to take honesty, especially those from the so called strawberry generation.
We are simply too sheltered. Perhaps thats why people hold back from being direct. Perhaps thats why people always give a politically correct opinion. Perhaps thats why people always think of a way to sugarcoat responses. They are afraid of hurting the feelings of others.
As someone who is direct and honest, it would great if we as a society could be more direct with each other. The onus should definitely be on all of us to toughen up mentally and be less sensitive. We should not read and dwell too much into words which are really just adjectives. If you don't like it, do something to change people's opinions. Having said that, it is impossible to please everyone. Accepting and knowing who you as a person goes a long way in building that mental resilience! Thats the best solution in the long run. One last thing. If you are direct and honest with others, please be able to take it when others are being honest as well.